Chorizo Tacos, Spicy Mango Margaritas and the Single Girl

Faithful readers (or should I say, faithful reader ), I’m sorry I haven’t blogged in a long, long time.  I could proffer some lame excuse about being extremely busy or about how my life has changed extraordinarily over the last few months– but I’m bad liar. I just haven’t felt “it” for awhile.

However, I’m in need of a little distraction at the moment (work/boy/sick) and I recently bought an iPhone with a kick ass camera so I figured I’d give this blogging thing another try.

A couple of Saturdays ago, I made a quick visit to the Ferry Buildings Farmers’ Market where I procured the makings of a slaw (watermelon radish, green cabbage, scallions, serranos, and cilantro). 

Image

Are you wondering how I got to chorizo tacos and spicy mango margaritas from slaw?

It goes something like this:

I was at the farmers’ market around lunch time.  There were a TON of awesome things to eat but it was a total clusterf#$@. I have a massive aversion to lines so eating there was not gonna happen. A Nick’s Crispy Taco sounded like a great alternative.  Then I thought, “Why not get a fish taco?” 

It spiraled from there.

“ Fish tacos have slaw.

I have a little leftover sweet and sour dressing in the fridge…

 and I have chorizo in the freezer.

What about chorizo tacos with slaw?

And, if I’m having tacos why not make spicy mango margaritas to go with? “

 A quick trip to Safeway and it was game on! 

Let’s start with the cocktail. It’s only proper.

Spicy Mango Margaritas 

You’ll need:

  • 3 or 4 thin slices of a serrano pepper (if you use pickled you’ll be sorry)
  • A  jigger and a half of silver tequila
  • A couple of tablespoons of triple sec  (or to taste)
  • ¼ cup of freshly squeezed lime juice
  • ¼ cup of mango juice (something kind of thick)
  • Crushed or cubed ice
  • Mixture of cayenne pepper, salt and chili powder to rim the glass

Special equipment: a cocktail shaker and something to muddle with.  

Dip the lip of your glass in the lime juice and then into the mixture of pepper, salt and chili powder.  Set aside. 

 Place the slices of serrano pepper into the bottom of the cocktail shaker.  Muddle the peppers to release their juices.  Pour in the tequila, triple sec, lime juice, and mango juice.  Put the lid on the shaker (hold on to it!) and shake, shake, shake! 

 Makes one nice-sized margie.

 Fill your glass half full with ice.  Pour the margarita over the ice. Enjoy! Garnish with lime wedge and slices of serrano if it floats your boat.

Image 

 Now for the tacos:

Chorizo Tacos with Slaw

 Taco Meat

  • two tablespoons of canola oil
  • ½ pound of mexican chorizo (don’t buy Spanish … they are not the same thing)
  • 1 lb lean ground beef (you’ll get enough fat from the chorizo)
  • taco seasoning (chili powder, cayenne pepper, salt, and cumin)
  • 1 bell pepper (you pick the color) chopped
  • A mexican or cheap american beer ( I like Modelo or Tecate)
  • hot sauce

 Taco Accoutrements

  • taco shells (I’ll walk you through making taco shells in a subsequent posting)
  • cheese ( I used jack, but feta or cotija would work)
  • salsa
  • slaw ( I’d go tangy and sweet as opposed to creamy)
  • sliced avocado

Place a largish sauté plan on medium high heat. Add the canola oil. When it’s hot (not smoking) add in the chorizo (make sure to take it out of the casing) and the ground beef. Cook until brown, stirring occasionally. Once it’s browned, add the taco seasoning and the beer. Bring to boil and then turn down to medium or medium low (so it will simmer). Allow the liquid to reduce and thicken and then add the bell pepper. Cook until the bell is tender. 

Image

Serves 4 hungry peeps!

To make the tacos:  Add the meat to taco shells and top with the cheese, salsa, slaw and sliced avocado. Enjoy with spicy mango margarita!

About Carrie Tacla

Candymaking B2B marketer with a penchant for all things culinary.
This entry was posted in cocktails, cooking, entertaining, food, lifestyle, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chorizo Tacos, Spicy Mango Margaritas and the Single Girl

  1. Pingback: Chocolate and Cocoa Recipes and Home Made Candy Recipes

  2. Jim says:

    YUM!! So glad you’re back!

  3. Liz says:

    I love your blog! But I ruin almost everything I try to make. It will take some courage to attempt something.

  4. anita says:

    You made me hungry the picture of the tacos look delish. Glad your cooking tips are back!

  5. Brad says:

    Very good Miss Tacla. Couple of thoughts/questions. I’m not sure you need the oil if you start with the chorizo. The reason I say this is the fat from the chorizo will act as your oil. Thoughts? Last question. Have you ever substituted one jigger of agave syrup and one jigger of water mixed instead of triple sec? Triple sec seems to give me a little heartburn where watered down agave tastes soooo smooth and Mexican. I’m glad your back!

    • Carrie Tacla says:

      Good thoughts, brad. I would say the amount of oil you would use depends on the oiliness of your chorizo. And, I haven’t tried agave in my margies. I’ll have to check it out! Happy cooking!

  6. Pingback: In honor of National Margarita Day… « Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Foodiness

Leave a Reply

