What I’m obsessed with right now…

Summer is a busy time for me. I don’t have a lot of time to food shop or prepare meals so I’m all about quick and easy during the season of the sun. Here are four “recipes” I’ve been obsessed with lately:

Pomodoro Sauce with Linguine

I’ve been making a ton of this quick and easy pantry meal in the past few weeks.

Recipe:

Warm up some olive oil in a sauté pan over medium heat. Throw in some thinly sliced garlic. Open up a large can of San Marzano tomatoes. Tear them apart with your hands (it kinda feels a wee bit naughty). Dump the contents of the can into the pan. Heat thru. Add salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste. Tear up some fresh basil and toss it into the sauce. Boil your favorite pasta (I like whole wheat linguine) and add to the sauce. Dump the lot into a pasta bowl and add freshly grated parmigiano to your heart’s content. Sit crossed legged on your couch and consume.

Negroni

I recently got an iPad. I HEART it. Please don’t tell my friend that works at Apple. I feign indifference when he speaks of his beloved company (read the book, Stuff White People Like and you’ll understand why).

I digress.

Anyway, I’ve mostly used my iPad to read. Interestingly, in the last two books I’ve read, both memoirists talked about the pleasure of drinking negronis at sunset in Italy. Unfortunately, I won’t be revisiting Italy anytime soon but I do intend to drink these gorgeous little drinks for the remainder of the summer.

I enjoyed this gorgeous drink on a recent trip to My Father’s Office in LA.

Recipe:

4 parts gin, 2 parts Campari, 1 part sweet vermouth, twist of orange (don’t leave this out!). Shake and strain. Up or on the rocks. Good stuff. I prefer mine with a couple of big cubes of ice. Lovely.

Mango Lassi

I love fruit shakes (smoothies). And, I love mangos. So, the mango lassi is purrfection in a glass to me.

Recipe:

Cut up a ripe mango and put in a blender. Yes, cutting up fresh mango is a pain in the a@# but it’s worth it. Add a half cup of 2% Greek yogurt and the same amount of 1% (or your choice) milk. Toss in a handful of cubed ice and a teaspoon of vanilla. Then blend, baby, blend! Pour it into a pretty glass and add a colorful bendy straw as a finishing touch. Trust me, it will make you smile.

Spicy Cheese Dip (adapted from Gourmet, February 2003)

This dip makes a great addition to any bbq or picnic!

I’ve been making this dip nonstop since I unearthed the recipe from my archives (read: a drawer in a side table in my living room).  It’s healthy(ish); super easy to make; and full of flavor! The trick is to make the dip enough in advance so that the ingredients have time to meld and then serve it at room temp. Last tip is to serve the tortilla chips heated that accompany the dip. Soooo good!

Recipe:

  • ½ cup finely chopped drained bottled roasted red peppers
  • 1 1/2 to 2 fresh serrano peppers, minced
  • 3 scallions, finely chopped
  • 1 cup 2% Greek yogurt
  • ½ cup crumbled cotija cheese (use feta, if you can’t find cotija)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon salt

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and cover. Refrigerate overnight or for at least 2 hours.

Serve at room temp with warm tortilla chips. I’ve serve mine with Trader Joe’s Baked Blue Tortilla Chips in an attempt to amp up the healthy quotient.

 

 

 

About Carrie Tacla

Candymaking B2B marketer with a penchant for all things culinary.
This entry was posted in cocktails, cooking, easy party recipe, entertaining, food, healthy cooking, lifestyle, recipes, stylish entertaining and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’m obsessed with right now…

  1. Pingback: Frozen Watermelon Margaritas: Pink Drinks for the Ladies (and My Dad) | Tacla's Cooking Tips, Tricks, and Recipes Blog

Leave a Reply

