Welcome to My Culinary Journey and Musings

Hello! I’m a food enthusiast  living in San Francisco. I love all things pig, dining out, kitchen gadgets, candy-making, baking, cocktailing, and collecting cookbooks (I have about 30, including a mexican cookbook from 1964 with a cocktail recipe called the Bosom Caresser made with curacao). 

On a weekly basis I’ll be providing my adventures in dining, dishing on cocktails and cheese (my two faves: cottswold and robiola) as well as providing recipes or tricks for the home cook (and we are cooks, not chefs).

Salud!

Follow me on twitter: ct_foodisfun

My maiden voyage to Beretta

Handmade French Bark

A dark chocolate bark I made for the holidays last year.

About Carrie Tacla

Candymaking B2B marketer with a penchant for all things culinary.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Welcome to My Culinary Journey and Musings

  1. Christy Sturm Moore says:

    I love to cook and have had very little chance to do so this year (wonder why!)…Jason loves to cook as much as I do and we are looking forward to getting back into enjoying it again. Must have your recipe for the Bosom Caresser! Classic!
    Happy Cooking!

    • ctacla says:

      Hey Mrs. Moore-

        Bosom Caresser

      (I kid you not that is the name!) from The Food and Drink of Mexico by George C. Booth originally published in 1964.

      1/2 jigger brandy
      1/3 jigger curacao (i’m assuming at that time they meant the orange colored curacao but I’m not sure they still make it so I think you have to use the blue stuff–scary!)
      tsp. grenadine
      1 egg yolk

      Shake thoroughly in a cocktail shaker and strain into martini glass.

      Let me know if you try it. I am suspect of any drink that includes curacao.

    • heather says:

      So glad you asked for the Bosom Caresser recipe, Christy!
      I mean with a name like that, you just gotta’ get it.
      Bottoms (& Bosoms) Up!

      • ctacla says:

        Hi Heather,

        Yes, tomatoes can come from your local grocer or farmers’ market. I’d buy romas or beefstakes for this. Don’t waste your $$ on heirlooms for this recipe. I recommend a slightly chilled sangiovese or an austrian gruner veltliner (my new obsession!) to go with this soup. And, I’m a HUGE (and somewhat, recent) beer fan. I’d love a cold tecate or negro modelo with spicy soup. Just make sure it’s cold. It’s a nice counterpoint to the hot and spicy soup.

  2. Giulia says:

    Great idea!! Looking for reading your creations 🙂

Leave a Reply

