3 Quick Kitchen Tips for Working Drones (like me!)

In my effort to keep more $$$ in my pocket and less fat out of my a#$, I’ve taken to bringing breakfast and lunch to work nearly everyday.  Here are my top 3 quick tips to make bringing food along with you to the office less onerous:

1)      Make a stew, soup, or other one-pot meal on Sunday and pack it in individual portions to take with you for lunch during the week. Soups are super-easy to make. During the cold winter months, I try a new recipe each week. Last week it was Molly Wizenberg’s curried lentil soup, http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2010/12/curried_lentil_soup .  As soon as the soup was finished, I poured half of it into a freezer bag and portioned the rest into 3 glass bowls that had fitted lids.  During the week, all I had to do was grab one of the glass bowls out of the fridge and toss it in my work tote as I headed out the door. How’s that for fast?

2)      Buy the large-sized vanilla, greek, or plain yogurt instead of the individual-sized cartons as the larger container is cheaper and more versatile.  Before I go to bed, I pour some of the yogurt into tupperware, top it with a scoop of frozen berries and slivered almonds from the freezer, and pop it into the fridge. It’s a grab and go option that provides a healthy and yummy start to my day and a much cheaper alternative to the yogurt parfaits from the cafes near my office. As an alternative, I sometimes toss the yogurt and frozen fruit into a blender and whir up a delicious smoothie. My fave combo: frozen mango, strawberries, vanilla yogurt, milk  (or a cream if I’m feeling naughty), and a squirt of oj. 

3)      Make a batch of muffins during a slow weekend and freeze them. Homemade muffins are cheaper, healthier, and taste better than those ginormous, overly-sweet things you buy at Starbuck’s. I pull my homemade treats one by one from the freezer as I need them during the week and reheat for 20 seconds in the microwave when I get to work. This is my favorite healthy muffin alternative: https://ctacla.wordpress.com/2011/01/07/good-for-you-blueberry-muffin-recipe/  

What’s Next:

On a less healthy note, here’s what I’m making for SuperBowl Sunday:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/aarti-sequeira/bacon-apple-jalapeno-pop-ems-recipe/index.html

Bacon. Jalepeno. Cheese.  YUM. I’ll let you know how they turn out.

Subscribe to my Blog

Did you know you could get my blog updates sent to directly to your email? I only post once a week and I’m a firm believer in privacy so you don’t need to worry about email overload or spam.  Just enter your preferred email in the box to the right under the “Email subscriptions” heading and you’ll get my weekly dose of culinary musings, tips, tricks and recipes delivered your inbox.

About Carrie Tacla

Candymaking B2B marketer with a penchant for all things culinary.
This entry was posted in baking, food, healthy cooking, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 3 Quick Kitchen Tips for Working Drones (like me!)

  1. Pingback: 24 Hours of Sandwiches- Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner Sandwich Recipes | Tacla's Cooking Tips, Tricks, and Recipes Blog

Leave a Reply

