Frozen Watermelon Margaritas: Pink Drinks for the Ladies (and My Dad)

I am not very prolific when it comes to blogging. However, I’ve been asked for this recipe 4 times in the past week so I thought I’d save myself some key strokes and send it out into the blogosphere for the two additional people that read my virtual scribble.

Unlike my father, I stay away from drinks both frozen and pink in nature. However, these margaritas are sweet, tart and most importantly, FRESH. I hope you get a chance to enjoy them before summer fades into fall.

Serve with guacamole and spicy cheese dip!

Ingredients

1 medium seedless watermelon (remove rind, cut into cubes and freeze in gallon freezer proof bags overnight)

½ cup of freshly squeezed lime juice (about 4 limes) – DO NOT use that bottled crap. I’m generally easy-going on swaps but that sh#$ is just nasty.

½ cup silver tequila (or to taste) NOTE: I prefer silver tequila in most margaritas.  Save reposado for sipping.

1 generous tablespoon of agave syrup

Optional:  ¼ cup of Grand Marnier or triple sec (you may want to dial back on the agave syrup, if you use) or a wee bit of freshly squeezed orange juice.

How You Do It

Put all of the liquids into the jar of the blender. Fill the blender ½ full with the cubed frozen watermelon.  BLEND!!  Add more watermelon and BLEND again. Continue to add watermelon until the concoction gets to your desired thickness. I like mine a little on the thick side (wink) so I generally end up putting in almost a full bag of fruit (about a 1/3 to ½ of the cubed watermelon).

One blender jar full makes about 3 to 4 drinks.

Serve with guacamole or spicy cheese dip. Don’t forget the crudité and chips!

Salud!

About Carrie Tacla

Candymaking B2B marketer with a penchant for all things culinary.
This entry was posted in cocktails, easy party recipe, entertaining, healthy cooking, recipes, stylish entertaining and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

